Mmmm-muffins

31 Jan

A fiercely clever friend of mine once said “… hate that cutesy cupcake bullshit”!

She’s not wrong. I’ll prove it. If you had the choice of biting into a) a cupcake that tastes like the packet it comes from along with an inch high pile of sickly pastel pink piped on clag glue and icing sugar mix that makes every part of your mouth stick together in the most unnatural way OR…

b) This Coconut, Nectarine and White Chocolate Muffin

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What would you chose?

Cupcake horror aside, muffins are often not much better. When I buy muffins they rarely taste like they’re supposed to.

I know this is no ground-breaking culinary innovation, but it has taken me countless muffin making experiments to get the texture and flavour to my liking. Now that I have perfected the recipe I thought you’d like to try it.

I like coconut a LOT, so I thought I’d put some in my muffins. I realised that adding a little dessicated coconut to the batter doesn’t give you a very coconutty flavour. So, I decided to try coconut cream as the liquid in place of buttermilk. Success!

These muffins are very moist (especially when eaten fresh out of the oven, still warm) and they have a golden, crumbly outside. The spiced sugar topping really, um, well tops them off!

The addition of white chocolate is indulgent but if it is too sweet for you, leave it out. Use pecans, macadamias or some other delicious nut in its place.

Here’s the recipe… I’ve put an asterisk next to the base ingredients so you can reproduce the batter adding whatever fruit or other star ingredient you like. You could use this recipe for savoury muffins by leaving out the sugar and vanilla, obviously. Crammed with fried onions and with sweet chilli sauce on top.

Ingredients

(makes 6 medium sized muffins)

150 grams SR flour*

50 grams brown sugar*

50 grams dessicated or shredded coconut (or mix of both)*

pinch of salt*

1 large egg*

125 ml coconut cream*

50 grams butter (melted and cooled)*

1 tsp vanilla extract*

2 ripe nectarines, sliced into thin wedges

1 tbsp white choc buttons

For the Topping

1 tbsp demerara/raw sugar

1 tsp mixed spice (allspice, cinnamon, nutmeg)

Method

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees celsius.

Measure all dry ingredients into a mixing bowl, mix thoroughly. Add nectarine.

In a separate bowl, combine all wet ingredients, whisk just to lightly beat the egg and combine all ingredients well.

Make a well in the centre of the dry ingredients. Pour in the wet ingredients. Mix minimally with a spatula under JUST combined. Dry patches in the batter are a good thing.

Mix sugar and spice in a small bowl and sprinkle a little on the top of each muffin.

Bake for 20 minutes.

Cool in the tin for 5 minutes, then on a wire rack.

Don't take me out of my comfort zone before I've cooled down or I'll break apart.


two4six8!

Valentines Day?


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Other winning combinations are pineapple and cardamom or passionfruit butter or marmalade (just put a blob in the middle after spooning the batter into the tin – poke your finger down into the centre, spoon some in, then close the hole over again gently).

2 Responses to “Mmmm-muffins”

  1. Pamela Vincent January 31, 2011 at 12:21 pm #

    These sound like the muffin I dream must exist.

  2. Meredith January 31, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

    Ok running to shop now to buy all these ingredients. They sound like a perfect dinner to me…. hmmm, do I put cream on top so I get some calcium?

Leave a Reply

