Herblog

26 Jan

Parsley Patch

Trains on tracks, feet on paths, cars on roads, jobs, jobs, jobs, noisy devices and people everywhere! My herb garden helps me escape the stress of everyday life. It’s my own little scented sanctuary. I love my herbs: growing in the earth, nourished by the sun and water, more abundant and beautiful everyday. I get so much pleasure from standing out in the milky sunlight first thing in the morning, quietly surveying my dewy, scented garden. Better still, reaching down to pluck a whole handful of wonderful bouncy greenery sure as hell beats sorting through plastic sleeves of wilted, lifeless stuff for the least soggy and sad on the supermarket shelf. Sorry for all the S’s. Pagan folklore suggested that the souls of babies come from parsley patches. I don’t know what implications this has for harvesting or cooking with parsley. In fact, I don’t know why I even shared that tidbit, I just thought it was nice I guess. Check out my herb garden!

Our little herb jungle. Our herb garden has taken about a year to get as good as it is.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

PPPPeppers We also have a few mini capsicum plants, and some lovely banana chillies and a kaffir lime in a pot that's bursting with limey goodness.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Basil Seed. Now it's time to start planting seedlings, to make sure we don't run out.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Any little spot will do.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Little snow pea tendrils.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

chillies chillies chillies

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rosemary. Baaaaah.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bay Laurel what a nice name. My absolute favourite... Chuck the packet of musty, tired, flavourless flakes in the bin and plant one of these - you'll never recognise the sweet, nutty, fragrant leaf.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cumquat. I dream of marmalade. Stink bugs begone!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Vietnamese mint setting the bar for the mint in the middle. xcuse the styrofoam boxes, but they do a great job of housing bushy things like our vietnamese mint. The regular mint died in an unfortunate drowning incident that occurred over the period of this summer's deluge. With a little TLC I'm nursing him back to health and I'm expecting him to burst forth in typical trustworthy fashion any day now.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

THE pumpkin. We decided to pull up the pumpkin once it had taken over almost the entire yard and yielded a grand total of one (small and slow growing) fruit despite my best efforts! I was up before 6 one morning cross-pollinating the bloody thing myself when I cursed the bees and threw in the towel. Here is our lovely pumpkin souvenir, it'd better be tasty!

6 Responses to “Herblog”

  1. Ros Ross January 27, 2011 at 1:08 am #

    You can’t beat freshly picked, home-grown for flavour and nourishment and Soul. Well done!!!

    • Ros Ross January 27, 2011 at 1:12 am #

      p.s. parsley was said to be an aid to conception. No doubt because it is very high in B vitamins and all the things a woman needs for her body to work at its best.

  2. Meredith January 27, 2011 at 7:09 am #

    Nice post! That herb garden of yours is a delight Claire. Gardening skills are the perfect complement to cooking skills. Herbs, yum!

  3. Pamela Vincent January 27, 2011 at 8:05 am #

    That’s just superbly uplifting.
    Thanks for bring light into my day. May you, yours and the garden continue to flourish.

  4. Kitty kat January 27, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

    So glad I got to meet your herb garden! It’s looking fabulous from the photos. My parsley is just getting started…I’d better start making parsley salads soon though ;-).

  5. Novice McNeill February 3, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

    WOW…inspired!! This is a labour of love and a wonderful thing to aspire to…I’ve only just graduated from salt and pepper…eek!

Leave a Reply

